By Darlene Melcher

I couldn’t remember why I was outside on the ground with headlights blaring at me through the cold darkness. I don’t remember the sound of sirens or being put on a gurney and rolled into an ambulance. I kept asking where my kids were and I’m so thankful that they we not hurt on that night of our car accident a month ago. My plans to play the guitar and sing for Christmas came to an end with my right hand broken and in a splint. Healing from the concussion took as long as the broken bone and here we are staring into the new year and I just keep wondering what I am suppose to be doing now that I’m feeling better.

I stared at my computer screen the other day, waiting to remember what my task was. Finally, I asked God, “What am I supposed to be doing?”

Pray.

Pray? Praying doesn’t feel like a “doing”…it feels like that thing we do when we can’t figure out what to do. But I knew the still small Voice and I felt the urging. Pray. You would think, I would get it by now. I just helped to edit and design a book about prayer! So, since I felt a little foggy-headed on how to begin, I picked up a copy of Purposeful Prayers to refresh my memory.

If Jesus, who literally had all the power in heaven and earth at His command, relied on prayer, it’s pretty clear that we need to as well .

Well, that’s convicting. I sometimes feel that praying is a bit beneath me. (Blah. That is a nasty confession.) Like there must be something more important that I should be doing with my time. If I don’t make prayer a priority, I can’t be like Jesus-PERIOD.

But what should I pray for, when should I pray, how???

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. Do not quench the Spirit.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-19

Notice that the command to pray without ceasing is set between other instructions to rejoice always and give thanks in everything.   Prayer is thus bracketed by joy and thanksgiving. In other words, prayer is central to being able to draw joy from our faith and be grateful for God’s blessings.

Iprayer-coverbookpic should pray all the time. I should pray for the people that I come across or those who come across my mind. I should pray for healing and forgiveness and strength. I should pray for sins that burden our world and for peace in my own home.

To pray without ceasing means to adopt a posture in which God is the origin of our lives, the focus of our hope, and the basis for our decisions.

I should pray to focus my mind and soul of God, the only source of True Love and Life.

 One of the best ways to enter God’s presence is through God-centered, Biblically-grounded prayer. Such prayer, though seemingly so simple and mundane, transports us instantly from wherever we are to the very throne room of God.

Wow. Prayer is sounding pretty awesome and important. I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions, but if I were, I’m sure that praying more would need to be on the top of that list. Whether, I have a broken hand or tired body or whatever my limitations might be, prayer is a powerful way to invest my time.

For more insight on prayer, stay tuned to the this blog as we highlight excerpts from the book Purposeful Prayers by R. D. Fierro, soon to be available through Crystal Sea Books.

www.crystalseabooks.com

