I know. You are hyper-scheduled right now as the days count down to Christmas, so I will keep it bite-sized. I’ll confess, I was irritated with my child as I grabbed the Bible and demanded that she start reading aloud from Philippians 2. (Being a parent is good medicine for helping you learn to forgive your own parents!) This child needed some Jesus and an attitude adjustment in a hurry. As she read aloud, her little teeth began to unclench and the atmosphere in our home became a tad less hostile. The Holy Spirit nudged me and I read the passage again. A passage I have read and re-read and memorized and yet it still has the power to smooth my ruffled feathers, give me perspective and open my eyes to something new.

Do nothing from selfishness or empty conceit, but with humility of mind regard one another as more important than yourselves; do not merely look out for your own personal interests, but also for the interests of others. Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus, who, although He existed in the form of God, did not regard equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied Himself, taking the form of a bond-servant, and being made in the likeness of men. Being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. For this reason also, God highly exalted Him, and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name,

I never realized how applicable these verses were to Christmas! Imagine being Jesus (yes stretch that imagination!), in heaven, clothed in splendor and surrounded by goodness and light…and then….choosing to get squeezed down into the womb of a poor Jewish girl…born into a smelly stable with pokey hay. Wow! Christmas is astounding when you think about what a humbling process it was for Jesus, especially as He headed toward the Cross. For us, Christmas is often about dressing up and shining up; but for Jesus, Christmas was about stripping off and getting dirty. For that reason, my word for Christmas this year is Humble. I’m praying that the awe of what Jesus has sacrificed will give you great reason to rejoice this season.

babyjesus

Darlene Melcher

www.crystalseabooks.com

