By Darlene Melcher

The sweet young girl stepped up to the microphone in front of her entire school but then she turned away from her audience and stood frozen. She had worked hard on her speech, but now she couldn’t find the strength to give it. Whispers of encouragement could be heard from the crowd. Suddenly, a friend stood with her and helped her to do what she had come to do.*  We hear these kind of stories all the time and it leaves us uplifted and inspired, but what about the person who experienced the embarrassment of weakness?

In my own struggle with driving-related anxiety, I can sympathize. In those moments I wish for the miraculous healing, for the struggle to be gone or for my own ability to be enough. However, I often feel God is saying, “My grace is sufficient for you, power is perfected in weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

Sometimes I still struggle with the question: If God can, why doesn’t He?

Why doesn’t He heal me instantly of my weakness?

The answer was revealed to me while reading about Moses’ weakness.

“Whenever Moses held up his hand, Israel prevailed, and whenever he lowered his hand, Amalek prevailed. But Moses’ hands grew weary…”

Wow. An epic battle between God’s chosen people and the lawless Amalekites resting on the hands of Moses. I expect God to jump in with miraculous strength for Moses, right? These are God’s people and this is God’s chosen man. God’s love and favor of Moses is shown over and over and yet we see Moses’ hands grow weary and lower.

“…So they took a stone and put it under him, and he sat on it, while Aaron and Hur held up his hands, one on one side, and the other on the other side. So his hands were steady until the going down of the sun.” (Exodus 17:11-12)

What a beautiful picture of how the body of Christ is meant to function. We rest on the Rock of Jesus and hold each other up. God’s answer of help often arrives through human hands. Moses’ weakness opened a door for Aaron and Hur to help and showcase God’s provision and kindness.mosespic

Do you think Moses was glad he couldn’t hold his arms up any longer?

God often doesn’t heal us instantly of our weakness because weakness has a purpose that is bigger than just you and me.

My own need has opened the door of opportunity for others to showcase the beauty and love of God. It isn’t all about me, it’s about God. My friends often hold me up with prayer and encouragement but also with physical support. When I had to pick up my husband from the airport, my friend Anita drove. When we moved across the state, my friends Cricket and Trey helped. When my kids were babies and my husband was a student, Allie came to help. In financial difficulty my church and friends have supplied my lack. My weakness, my inglorious vulnerability made room for God’s glory to shine though others.

I am learning to say, “I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

Because “the members of the body which seem to be weaker are necessary.”

(1 Corinthians 12:22)  Whew. That is good news.

                    I was upheld only by a power before which even my own frailties were unimportant. Strength, made possible through recognition of weakness, was my only redemption.   ~ The Prodigal’s Advocate

*Our Daily Bread devotional entitled, “Coming Alongside”
www.crystalseabooks.com

