The value of something is based on what someone else is willing to pay for it.

coinThe Flowing Hair dollar was the first dollar coin issued by the United States, minted in 1794. On January 24, 2013, it sold for $10,016,875, the highest price ever paid for a coin. Wow, an object worth ten million times its original value. I can relate. When I turn my eyes toward God, I often feel like King David when he wrote Psalm 8:4, What is man that You take thought of him, And the son of man that You care for him?”

I’m a finicky creature. One moment, I think I’m smarter than God and the next  moment I’m bemoaning my sinful, wretchedness. Unlike, pop culture, positive thinking is not the answer to my problem. So what do I do when I realize that my face value has been marred beyond recognition? I remember the price that was paid to redeem me.

As the Prodigal, in The Prodigal’s Advocate, begins to understand the truth, he sees Jesus:

“He was their Shield, their Protector, the only sure Barrier between them, the Adversary, and the righteous indignation of the One Without Shadow. Yet he could only perform this role at great personal cost. My delivery from the Adversary’s rightful accusations was not free.”

God the Father paid a price to forgive our sin beyond what we can even comprehend. I can’t imagine giving up my only son for a group of ungrateful sinners like us.

“Yet You have made  [us] a little lower than God, And You crown  [us] with glory and majesty!” Psalm 8:5

I’m so thankful that my worth is not based on my performance or talent or what others think of me. My value is based on what God paid to redeem me: Jesus the Sinless, my perfect Savior!

www.crystalseabooks.com

