By Darlene Melcher

I’ve been a bit grumpy lately. Trouble makes me grumpy and I get frustrated with God because He has the power to fix all my troubles. I told Him that yesterday and He reminded me, “In this world you will have trouble, but take heart, I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33) To which I replied, “Yeah, well, in the meantime, I’m still having trouble down here!” Car trouble, phone trouble, health trouble, parenting trouble, money trouble, computer trouble… I don’t love trouble! Nothing devastating, but all seems to be squeezing in on me and I want to yell, “Enough!”

This morning I was reading the parable of the workers in the vineyard in Matthew chapter 20. Sometimes I think the person most convicted by my devotional readings to my kids is me. After reading, I turned to my daughter and explained how we can have bad attitudes when we expect more than what was promised…hmmm.

givinghandHow can I be angry with God? What does He owe me after all? Judgement. Praise God that Jesus took my place and granted me a pardon from my deserved end. God does not owe me a life of health, wealthy, favor, comfort or ease. I may have a bed of roses but the thorns come with it. If I have trouble, I have exactly what He said I would have. However, He has not withheld His Holy Spirit, His love, nor His hope for eternity. If I have these, I have what was promised to me and so, like the grumpy vineyard workers, I have no right to be angry. My kind Father says to me, “‘I am not being unfair to you, friend.” He added His peace to my situation, just as He said He would.

           “Call Him my master. Call Him my savior. Call Him my friend. It’s all the same to me. If He’ll have me, which He’s promised He will, I’ll have Him.

~ The Prodigal’s Advocate

www.crystalseabooks.com

