By Darlene Melcher

We drove into the Wal-Mart parking lot. I was talking with my husband and fielding questions from my kiddos when something out of the ordinary caught my eye. Something was lying on the black asphalt, something bigger than a bread box. It moved and I realized it was a person, struggling, face down. I alerted my husband and I got out of the van to find an elderly woman struggling to get up. Funny how personal space and the fact that I’m an introvert are really inconsequential at times like that. I started to help her up and she wanted me to put her bags in her car first. I suggested getting her up off the ground first.
“I was just trying to do a good deed,” she said. “Then I tripped on a pebble.”
She grabbed her head, “Lord, Jesus help me.”
I smiled and thought , “He is helping you.”

There are people all around us as we go through life that need help and we have the opportunity and blessing to be the helping hands of Christ to them.

            “To be successful, your journey must be marked by wise choices and careful use of the gifts entrusted to you.” ~ Doors of Destiny

Matthew chapter 10 records Jesus’ instructions and the spiritual empowerment given to the twelve disciples. He instructed them to go into their hometowns and all the cities of Israel,
And as you go, preach, saying, ‘The kingdom of heaven is at hand’” (Matthew 10:7). asyougo

Battles are campaigns of movement which affect and change the landscapes they traverse; Jesus was sending His troops out on a spiritual conquest.

Similarly, in Luke 10:18–20, Jesus commissioned seventy disciples to go and fight the darkness with the hope of the good news. When they returned, they excitedly reported to Jesus the successes of their journeys.

Just today, I pulled through a gas station parking lot and witnessed a distraught woman with tears and mascara running down her face. She was walking toward the highway and as I neared I rolled down my window, “Do you need a ride or some help?” I asked.
“No, I’m fine,” she waved me away.
She wasn’t fine, she was weeping. Not everyone will receive help, but we must reach out as Jesus did.

If we view life as a journey, and God’s Word as the map, it only makes sense to follow the directions. Who takes a journey, hoping to reach a particular destination, but ignores the GPS? Not wise traveling. So let’s refer to our Map often, check or course repeatedly, and make sure we’re equipped for our journey to be light in the darkness as we go.

Excerpt from Doors of Destiny Traveler’s Companion. 

