I cracked open my Bible and took a deep breath. I was hoping for an encouraging passage…you know, like a spiritual pep talk before I started my day. I looked down at Ezekiel (I should have known better) chapter 34 and verse 2,  ‘Thus says the Lord GOD, “Woe, shepherds of Israel who have been feeding themselves! Should not the shepherds feed the flock?”

Uh oh.
fatsheep
This chapter is not such nice news for shepherds who only look out for their own well being and leave the weak and injured to fend for themselves. I began to think about my three little kids. My oldest is just learning to read, but the other two can’t read at all. They can’t pick up their Bibles and have their own time with the Lord like that yet. I had been neglecting to spiritually feed them on a daily basis and I felt pricked in my soul.
The Lord continues in verses 20-21, Behold, I, even I, will judge between the fat sheep and the lean sheep. Because you push with side and with shoulder, and thrust at all the weak with your horns until you have scattered them abroad..” 

Dang. Nothing like being called a “fat sheep”, especially when it is true. How selfish I had become in protecting my own “quiet time” with the Lord while overlooking the spiritual needs of my little lambs. It wasn’t the pep talk I was hoping for, it was better. How kind of God to tell it like it is so that I won’t keep going in my own selfish way.

Jesus set the example for us by showing special attention to the young and the weak. That is one reason I wrote Ruthie’s Reflections, a Christian study aid for younger audiences. One of the main characters of Doors of Destiny by R. D. Fierro is a four year old girl named Ruthie. So I thought it only fitting that Ruthie-aged people have a dedicated section in Doors of Destiny Traveler’s Companion. Ruthie’s Reflections is a great option for parents or teachers who are reading Doors of Destiny aloud to their kids.

Sample Questions:

            Prologue: Have you ever thought about the world we can’t see, where God is? Even the wind shows us that things we can’t see can be very real and powerful.

            Chapter 1: Did you know that our God cares about the little animals? The Bible says that God feeds even the little birds (Matthew 6:26).

            Chapter 2: Have you ever felt like Ruthie; disappointed because things didn’t happen the way you expected?
Ruthie learned that even though things don’t always happen the way we want them to, good things can still be ahead.

I’m smiling right now, just thinking of what a blessing it will be to hear those sweet answers and to plant those seeds of faith in little hearts.

            “Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love Me more than these?” He said to Him, “Yes, Lord; You know that I love You.” He said to him, “Tend My lambs.” John 21:15

I think Jesus would say the same to us as wellLet us Love God, by loving the little lambs.

www.crystlaseabooks.com

